Book Shelf: “Divergent” by Veronica Roth

I have recently been in a major reading funk. After having a ridiculous four month break from work to sit at home and read, my schedule has filled WAY back up again! I love working and low my new teaching job but I am find less time to read. I have been trudging through the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon since Christmas (currently on book five of seven). While I have adored this series, the books are Very lengthy (1000+ pages each!) and I tend to get bored easily.
20120423-201825.jpg

Enter “Diverent”. I read this over a weekend while traveling a lot in he car and LOVED it! I have been hearing great things about the book all over the internets. I am a lover of dystopian fiction and this book did not disappoint. I might even say that I liked it just as much as “Hunger Games” – gasp! The whole premise is similar the HG as there is a strong female protagonist who is “finding herself” amidst a dystopia in upheaval. And of course there is a love story. With a mysterious tattooed hottie named Four. Love it!

Tris lives in a dystopian Chicago and is part of one of five factions in the city. Her faction values selflessness over all else. When she turns sixteen, Tris has to choose the faction that she will live in for the rest of her life. After a certain bit of important information is revealed (no spoilers here!), Tris is torn between her own faction, Abnegation, and the reckless Dauntless.

I don’t want to get into spoilers, so I will leave you to Amazon ( there are currently over 800 reviews!). The best part is that “Divergent” is part of a trilogy and the next book, “Insurgent”, comes out next week!

What do you think?

