Book Shelf: David Sedaris

I am currently reading “Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim” by David Sedaris… It quickly reminded me of how much I love his work! Most of his books are in essay format, which makes it easy to dip in and out as you please. My all-time favorite and first-ever Sedaris read is “Me Talk Pretty One Day.” if you are looking to laugh until you cry, pick it up! Sedaris draws on his crazy family and the other interesting characters from his many occupations and lifestyles to weave some of the funniest writing I have ever experienced. I will often open this book and re-read sections just for a laugh.

20120601-184109.jpg

Here are a few of my favorite Sedaris anecdotes:
“We were not a hugging people. In terms of emotional comfort it was our belief that no amount of physical contact could match the healing powers of a well made cocktail.” Naked

“Real love amounts to withholding the truth, even when you’re offered the perfect opportunity to hurt someone’s feelings” Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

“I haven’t the slightest idea how to change people, but still I keep a long list of prospective candidates just in case I should ever figure it out.” Naked

Fair warning: if you don’t like talk of sex, drugs and rock and roll – this book may not be for you 🙂

One thought on “Book Shelf: David Sedaris

What do you think?

