Road Trip 2012: Reading Material

We had a bit of soggy weather in Vermont. This was disheartening, as I had planned lots of outdoor exercise and activities (haha! Yeah…) The rainy, cold conditions were perfect for cuddling under my covers with a good book šŸ™‚ Here’s the rundown of what I’ve read so far, starting with the best:
On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves

20120628-200435.jpg
This book was fantastic! It is a survival story about two people who get stranded in a deserted island in the Maldives. They live there for over three years and may or may not fall in love šŸ™‚ I thought it would be cheesy, but decided to give it a try anyway due to rave reviews on Amazon. Happy I did.

When You are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris

20120628-202830.jpg
I love everything Sedaris does, so I wasn’t surprised that I devoured this one as well. David’s stories about taking French lessons in Paris and Japanese lessons in Japan were the funniest. I LOL’ed. Is LOL’ed appropriate blog language…?
Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

20120628-203738.jpg
I have never read any horror fiction, but I loved Salem’s Lot. Stephen King truly is the master of suspense and did a great job making me feel connected to the characters before writing in their gruesome deaths. I honestly didn’t think the book was all that terrifying, but vampires are just not that realistic to me. Clint says that The Shining will scare the shit out of me- maybe it is next in my list?

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

20120628-204824.jpg
This is the memoir of Jenny Lawson, better known as The Bloggess . It was mostly hilarious but had a few heartbreaking stories mixed in. I haven’t read Lawson’s blog much, but I have just added it to my Reader. She is funny, relatable and poignant and I loved her book!

Next on my list to read (thanks to the limited book selection at a Wal-Mart in rural New Hampshire) are “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak, “Baby Proof” by Emily Giffin (my chick lit favorite) and “The Winter Sea” by Susanna Kearsley. Any other suggestions?

What do you think?

