Road Trip 2012: What I Ate

I am known for being a TripAdvisor fool when it comes to travel. I tend to go a little crazy with the research, but most of the time it pays off with some great eats! Since we were camping, we didn’t eat out as much as we normally do when traveling. Also, the wilderness and lack of actual cities in which to eat proved a little challenging for this foodie 🙂 nevertheless, we found some fantastic spots that I am happy to share.

Penny Cluse Cafe in Burlington, VT

20120707-223036.jpg
This cute spot was in downtown Burlington. We didn’t have the best weather in Vermont, but we made the best of things. I loved Burlington because it reminded me of Asheville, one of my favorite southern cities. It just had this hip, funky vibe that I loved. The downtown area has a huge pedestrian only street with lots of boutiques and restaurants. We chose the Penny Cluse Cafe for brunch. They serve breakfast and lunch until the early afternoon, which is good for a lazy bum like myself who never goes out for breakfast because I like to sleep in.
I got the gingerbread pancakes and they were beyond yummy. Of course, they serve real maple syrup with everything! Their menu has some good looking southwestern dishes as well.

The Steakhouse in Wells, Maine
We went here on the recommendation of our camping hosts and were really impressed. It was crowded on a Tuesday at 5:00, which is always a good sign! I loved that it reminded me of our hometown steakhouse where I worked for years in college. Just a great, homey feel. As this pale was known for great steaks, that’s what we all ordered! My perfectly medium rare filet came with this bleu cheese butter for dipping. What could possibly we better that steak dipped in butter and cheese. For real. They also had a signature side that was akin to a twice baked potato, which happens to be one of my favorite foods. What can I say? I am easily impressed with bleu cheese butter and a twice baked potato.

Maine Diner in Wells, Maine

20120707-224735.jpg
The Maine Diner is pretty famous around the area. It was also featured on Food Network’s “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives”. When I saw that they had homemade mac and cheese, I was sold. Some restaurants tout “homemade” mac, but unless it is baked I am not enthused. I love some macaroni and cheese, and this was the reallll deal. Yum.

What do you think?

