Book Shelf: A Thousand Splendid Suns

20120717-122551.jpg

I actually read this book a while ago, but I’m just now getting around to blogging about it. I came to Khaled Hosseini’s books after I watched the movie version of “The Kite Runner”, his debut novel. I think that “The Kite Runner” is going to be one of those epic stories that is going to be remembered for generations. People will be talking about it forever. “A Thousand Splendid Suns” is similar in that it takes place in Afghanistan and spans several decades. I love this unique setting, as we usually only hear stories about Afghanistan on CNN- not exactly a true picture of the country. I tell my student all the time that the best books can sometimes break your heart, and that’s definitely true with this one.

The book tells the stories of two women, Mariam and Laila. Their stories merge when Mariam’s evil husband Rasheed marries Laila after her parents’ untimely deaths. The two form a close relationship despite their unique situation. The story is heartbreaking and inspiring at the same time. I can’t wait to see what comes next for Hosseini, who is undoubtably one of the greatest storytellers of our time.

What do you think?

