Wandering Around Charleston – Version 2.0

Charleston 2012

Clint and I gifted ourselves a trip to Charleston this year instead of exchanging gifts – it was a success. I hope that we decide to make this a tradition! Here’s the rundown of the trip:

Where We Stayed

We opted to stay at Charleston Place this time, instead of our usual Francis Marion. The hotel was just about as centrally located as it gets – situated between King St. and Meeting St. right across the street from the Market. Also, there was a Starbucks within sight… win! The room was very “Old Charleston” style, which I love. The hotel also has a spa which included a saltwater infinity pool that I didn’t make use of. I’m the person that doesn’t think to bring a swimsuit on vacation in December!

charleston place

What We Did
circular congregational church

Sound of Charleston – The highlight of our trip was attending “Sound of Charleston” on Friday night. It was a concert that featured different musicians and genres from Charleston’s history. Even Clint, who decidedly is not a music buff, loved the show. It was held in the Circular Congregation Church, which was founded over 400 years ago! This in itself, was really interesting. We walked around the church’s graveyard before the show and saw many graves from the 1700s.

circular church graveyard

The concert was hosted by a musician who I’d describe as a mix between a history teacher and a Southern Baptist preacher. He blended everything from Mozart to modern jazz seamlessly with tons of historical tidbits about the city thrown in. As we’ve pretty much done every tour, carriage ride, and cruise of Charleston, this was a fresh perspective of the city. It was a little pricey at almost $30 per person, but I don’t have a single doubt that it was well worth it! There is a performance every Friday night, and you can buy tickets at the door.

Marion Square Park Christmas Lights

I had a trick up my sleeve for this part of our trip! Clint lost his wedding ring a long while back, and we had never bothered to get him another one. He proposed to me in Marion Square Park in Charleston, so I thought I’d return his gesture on this trip. I ordered him a new ring and surprised him with it at the park amongst the Christmas trees. It was just as sweet as it sounds :]

What We Ate

Ahhhhh…. the food. This is undoubtedly a huge attraction in Charleston. For the size of the city, there is a huge concentration of fantastic restaurants with hardly a chain spot in sight! We love it.

Jestine’s Kitchen – I’ve written about Jestine’s before, but I think that her fried chicken deserves another nod. We got there just in time to avoid a line that eventually stretched halfway around the block, which was nice. The place is teeny tiny, but the food and the friendly southern hospitality is not to be missed. So. Yummy.
jestine's kitchen fried chicken

High Cotton- We went to dinner at High Cotton on our last night in town and we were impressed. It was, by far, the best food I’ve ever had in Charleston. The food and service even exceeded amazing dinners that we’ve had at Magnolia’s, which was deemed “our spot” years ago. I ordered a filet with bacon bourbon reduction (whattt!???) and a smoked twice baked potato. It was easily the best steak of my life. And I’ve had some good steak in my day! We also snacked on some fried pimento cheese with a jalapeno relish, which was just as incredible. I only wish I had more pictures to document this amazing spot!
high cotton charleston

Can’t wait to hit the road again!

photo

What do you think?

