Book Shelf: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

part time indian
I finally had some time to catch up on my reading list over spring break! I knocked out a few books, but this one was my favorite.
I have seen this book on many high schools lists of “banned books.” I don’t know about you, but that can make a book jump to the top of my list in a hurry. Aren’t they usually the best?!
 part-time-indian
True Diary was a book that charmed me with its dry humor from the beginning. The main character, Arnold Spirit lives on the Spokane Indian reservation until he decides to venture out into the outside world of suburbia. At his new school, he struggles to make friends while still trying to defend his Indian culture. At home, he is exiled by his community. This book made me remember what is was like to be an awkward adolescent (actually, let’s be honest, I’m an awkward adult).  With equal parts of humor and heartbreak, I loved it and promptly passed it along to my high school age cousin. She read it in a day, too!
What do you think?

