Book Shelf: Summer Reading

I’m using my summer free time to make some big dents in the stack (both virtual and physical) of “to-read” books that are cluttering up my house. Here are a few of my favorites so far this month:
blue
A Different Blue by Amy Harmon

This was one of those Kindle Daily Deals that sounded interesting. Blue Echohawk is an orphaned teenager who searches for her true identity for most of her life. After losing her biological parents, her adoptive father (the stranger that she was passed along to just hours before her mother’s death), and her own child, Blue searches for a family. This was a great read with a happy ending! I thought it wouldn’t be possible after all the heartache.
monster
Monster by Walter Dean Myers

I read this after years of seeing it on numerous lists of best books for teenagers. It is written from the point of view of Steve Harmon, an accused accessory to murder. Steve documents his trial through a documentary that he is filming in his imagination. His story is compelling and heartbreaking. I won’t tell you what happened, but the author keeps you guessing until the end!

halfbroke
Half Broke Horses by Jennette Walls

Most every reader I know has already read Walls’ more popular memoir, The Glass Castle, but I enjoyed this read even more than its predecessor. Walls has written a “true life novel” about her late grandmother, Lily Casey Smith. Lily is a heroine that you can root for as she conquers ranch life, teaching, piloting, taxi driving, and parenting- taking it all in stride. The story reads like a memoir, with snippets from Smith’s unique lifespan. I absolutely loved this book!

freakonomics
Freakonomics by Steven Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

Clint and I watched the Freakonomics documentary and I knew it had to come off of my Amazon wishlist. The book explores “the hidden side of everything” from ghetto names to real estate. Even though I don’t read much nonfiction, the quirky content kept my attention.

What have you been reading this summer?

What do you think?

